Banana and Almond Butter Buckwheat Pancakes

8 Feb

Tasty breakfast! These are some of the best pancakes I’v ever head. Not even joking. Maybe it’s the heartiness of the buckwheat (I’ve never used buckwheat in pancakes before!), but I couldn’t stop eating these things!

These can be completely vegan, but I opted in using an egg because I didn’t have any flax meal on hand. I’ve put the vegan substitutes in brackets in the recipe.

Stack of Fat cakes

My friend Kristen just recently made these and they looked so good I had to try them.

Banana Almond Butter Buckwheat Pancakes

  • 1/2 cup buckwheat flour plus 1 tbsp
  • 1/3 cup quick oats
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 2 tbsp milk (or soy or almond)
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 egg (or 1 tbsp flax meal)
  • 1 heaping tsp cinnamon
  • splash of vanilla
  • water to add, if you like runnier batter
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 tbsp peanut butter
Directions:
Mix buckwheat flour and oats together. Stir in baking powder, soda, salt, ad cinnamon. Pour in milk, honey, and vanilla. Stir until combined. Add egg, mix, and finally add in the extra tbsp of buckwheat.

I love almond butter on everything

Set a pan or griddle to medium heat and spray with cooking spray. Drop batter into three pancakes on pan. Place sliced bananas on top and gently push into pancakes.Cook for 2-3 minutes on each side, then transfer to plate. Top with peanut butter (or any other toppings you like).Enjoy!

xox.

🙂

Leave a comment