Peanut Butter Banana Coconut Cookies

3 May

Holy moly I haven’t blogged in ages! Super sorry guys! I haven’t felt very inspired for the last couple weeks, and thought that I mine as well take a break until I felt like I could write a genuine post with a worthy recipe. Life is much different these days, with most of my roomies gone and a few new subletters moving in. No school work means that I have no real desire to bake- weird? Perhaps it was the stress from school that drove me release it in the kitchen.

Anyhow, today I finally felt like baking again, and was inspired by the flavour combination in How Sweet Eats banana and peanut butter cookies. I was lacking a lot of the necessary ingredients, but I think my substitutions worked out well! I had to use ground flax seed to replace the egg, a few tbsp of olive oil to replace the butter, and decided to throw in some left over coconut flakes and coconut sap to really enhance the flavours. Considering there is hardly any oil and sugar, these cookies are super healthy! The added flax adds omegas and the peanut butter provides protein. The coconut sap is low on the Glycemic index and the banana adds other nutrients like potassium. Woohoo!

If you want banana bread in a moist, cookie form, these are for you. They aren’t overly sweet, but very tasty. My new favourite comfort food!

toasted coconut!

Peanut Butter Banana Coconut Cookies

  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • 2-3 tbsp olive oil or coconut butter
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup coconut sap (or substitute brown sugar or honey)
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seed
  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup shredded sweetened coconut
  • 1/3 cup chopped peanut butter cups (or chocolate chips)

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a cookie sheet.

In a medium sized bowl, mix together the banana, peanut butter, olive oil, vanilla, coconut sap, and ground flax seed. In a separate bowl, mix together the baking powder, flour, and salt. Mix in flour mixture into wet mixture. Finally, mix in peanut butter cups and coconut flakes.

Scoop out 1/4 cup amounts of dough onto greased cookie sheet, spaced about 2 inches apart, and bake for 15-18 minutes, depending on how gooey you like them. Let cool for 10 minutes, then serve.

Happy baking! xxx

 

One Response to “Peanut Butter Banana Coconut Cookies”

  1. Elizabeth May 4, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    I just made peanut butter cookies a month ago, I really like the texture of yours, they look so fluffy!

Leave a comment