Marshmallow Caramel Brownies

12 Apr

Fat stack

Today I went running. It was euphoric. Utterly incredible and fantastically fresh. It was more of a slow, strong jog, but it felt great. I haven’t been brave enough to try for a month for fear of making myself more sick (if that is even possible). Turns out I’m so much better than I thought! Yay for health!

My new-found balance in life has completely changed how I look at the world. I swear, I am half as stressed as I used to be, and I think it is because I don’t take everything as seriously. School is hard, and requires a lot of time and effort. But it is not my life and that is ok. I won’t be the kid scoring 90’s in my courses, but I will be much happier for it. I will get through exams, find a summer job, and have the best possible summer that I can! As for food, I am listening to my body more and eating only healthy, simple food. If you treat your body right, it shines through in your mood, complexion, and overall well-being. Such a good feeling.

To balance out my healthy eating and exercise, I obviously had to bake a batch of these beauties. So gooey, fudgey, chocolatey, and just straight-up delicious. I swirled caramel throughout the brownie batter, and mixed in a good 2 cups of marshmallows before I popped it in the oven. The marshmallows caramelized, and added a chewy texture. They are best served after cooling in the fridge overnight, because the flavours deepen. Recipe is my own.

Marshmallow Caramel Brownies

 

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 eggs, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup caramel (make your own or store bought!)
  • 1-2 cups mini marshmallows

 

Directions:

 

Grease a 9×9 baking pan and line with aluminum foil. Grease again. Set oven to 375 degrees.

Over medium-high heat, melt butter in a small sauce pan. When completely melted, remove and add sugar. Stir like crazy to prevent burning. When sugar is fully incorporated, wait 5 minutes to let cool.  Add eggs, one at a time, whisking them in. Add vanilla. In a separate bowl, mix up dry ingredients, then add them to wet ingredients.

Pour mixture into prepared pan, and swirl in caramel. Top with marshmallows, and stir them in a bit so that they are coate din batter and wont burn.

Bake for 35-40 minutes until top is glossy, and a toothpick comes out clean yet crumby. Cool brownies for 20 minutes, then a further 2 hours in fridge. Slice into bars and serve with milk.

Happy Baking! xxx

Leave a Reply

