Strawberry Cream Cheese Crumb Bars

8 Apr

Happy Easter! Woop woop! Where be the candy at?!

Spring fever in bar form

A lovely, sunny day like today means iced coffee and long walk on the beach. It also means postponing studying until 12 1 in the afternoon and chatting with my beautiful and hilarious room mates. It means thinking about all the wonderful spring desserts that are totally going to be made-and devoured- for the next couple months. A day like today deserves fresh strawberries, cold cream cheese, and buttery, flaky crumb topping.

I am the kind of girl who bakes something, and tries to consume it just as it leaves the oven. Not too good for mouth as there is nothing worse then piping hot, sugary goo. It also makes for horrible photographs. I already am down a notch on the whole “photography thing” as I use my iPhone to capture all my images. I have no lights, no lighting umbrellas, ugly plates and table cloths, and definitely no super duper expensive and heavy as f*** camera. The least I can do is make sure I cool down the damn food for the whole time needed, and to cut it into pretty, petite portions. Not hard you say? Try being in the kitchen the whole time, drooling at the oven door, and inhaling the sweet aroma of what is in fact the matrimony of butter and sugar. Mhmmmm thought so.

Bars just having a picnic

So my point is that I waited for these bars to cool down before slicing into them, and I am super happy I did. They are gooey, flakey, butter, creamy, and have a huge hit of fresh strawberry flavour. The cream cheese tones down the sweetness, and gives the bars a nice depth. As one of my roommates said, “they taste better then anything Starbucks would make”. That’s a win in my books.

 

Strawberry Cream Cheese Crumb Bars (Adapted from Can you Stay for Dinner?)

Bar

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup butter, cold, and cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 1 egg

Filling

  • 2 cups fresh strawberries, diced
  • 4 oz softened cream cheese
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 tbsp sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and line a 9×9 inch baking dish with aluminum foil. Grease foil.

Throw all of the bar ingredients into a food processor and pulse for 20 seconds, making sure to scrape down the sides. Push half of the dough into the dish, making an even layer.

Beat cream cheese and all other ingredients aside from strawberries until thoroughly mixed. Stir in strawberries. Spread mixture over dough layer of baking dish. Crumble the rest of the dough mixture on top of the strawberry layer, making sure to completely cover it.

Bake for 40-45 minutes, until crumb layer is slightly golden. Remove and cool for 15 minutes, then cool in freezer or fridge for 1-2 hours longer (or to your desired temperature). Slice into bars and eat outside, while sunbathing on the grass.

Happy Easter!!

 

xxx

 

2 Responses to “Strawberry Cream Cheese Crumb Bars”

  1. Jody Thompson April 8, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    Happy Easter! Who needs candy when you have yummy baked goods. By the way I take all my photos with my iPhone too. I have a real camera but it’s just too much to schlep around sometimes. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

