Microwave Cheesecake

25 Mar

What have we here?

I think I just did something incredible today. Perhaps it has been done before, but I don’t really care. For me, it felt like inventing the toaster. Or something a bit more awesome, but I think you get the point.

After making mug cakes for the past couple weeks, and making the lemon bars with the cheesecake layer, I thought, “Why don’t I combine them and make microwave cheesecake?”

Yes my friends, I made microwaved cheesecake. Creamy, rich, sweet, and chocolate filled cheesecake in a perfect one-bowl serving. It may not look too appetizing, but what the hell does after being microwaved. The key to this recipe is to cook your cheesecake in short, 30 second bursts so as to avoid exploding the cake everywhere. You can swirl in jam, peanut butter, and nutella, or sprinkle it with chocolate chips (what I did), coconut, or even graham cracker crumbs for a more authentic dessert. The options are endless!

Please try this! I swear you wont regret it. Well, maybe you will when you become addicted and try and eat it for every meal a day. The portion is quite large but is actually quite low calorie considering how much you get. depending on the type of cream cheese you use, the whole bowl is about 520 calories. It is also packed with protein, so I won’t pass judgement if you eat this for breakfast. I did!

My favourite food!

Microwave Cheesecake

  • 4 oz cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 packed tbsp brown sugar (using a sugar substitute will decrease the calorie content by 50 calories!)
  • a pinch of salt (only a little bit!)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp lemon juice (just to brighten to cream cheese flavour!)
  • add-ins: 3 tbsp chocolate chips

Directions:

Beat cream cheese and sugar for 1 minute, until fluffy. Add in egg, salt, vanilla, lemon, and cinnamon and beat for another minute. Pour mixture into a medium-small sized bowl and swirl in whatever toppings you like. Microwave for 30 seconds, and check mixture. Repeat this step 4 or 5 times until desired consistency. Top will be a light golden colour, with small bubbles, and the center should be slightly jiggly. Cool in fridge for an hour or more and nom!

Happy microwaving!

xx.

6 Responses to “Microwave Cheesecake”

  1. Maureen (@OrgasmicChef) March 25, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    What a clever cookie you are! Perfect for an emergency cheesecake craving.

  2. Asmita (@FoodieAsmita) March 26, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

    Perfect, quick and easy. Looks yummy!

  3. Brianne @ Cupcakes & Kale Chips March 26, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

    I just found your blog today. These sound so good. Could probably split it up into two smaller desserts, too. Not that I am one to shy away form large desserts 🙂

  4. atasteofmadess April 1, 2012 at 1:19 am #

    I love things that can be made in the microwave. So quick and easy, I love it!

Leave a Reply

