Maple Caramel Cheesecake with Chocolate Ganache

28 Feb

Dear Cold,

I don’t know what your deal is. I try and try to kick you out, but you don’t leave! Don’t you understand that I’m done with “us”? I want to move on!

Sincerely,

Hannah

…had to get that off my chest. I haven’t been able to work out in 2 weeks because of this cold. 2 weeks! I think it’s time to visit the Doc.

In other news, I made this cheesecake and it was lovely! Like suuuuuper decadent. I’m happy with the results considering how badly I winged it. The flavour combo is quite odd, I know, but it works.

Rich and fluffy

I ran out of graham cracker crumbs, and didn’t know how to replace them. That’s when my roomie Jess walked by and tossed out “how about an oatmeal crust…” GENIUS. I then debated about how to flavour it….key lime? Caramel? Maple? Chocolate? I decided on the maple-caramel combo and it was great! I did a caramel swirl, which you cant see because of the chocolate ganache, but it was quite pretty.

super moist

To tell you the truth, I preferred the cake without the chocolate. I know, I know, how can chocolate make something less delicious. But I found it to be a tad overwhelming to the other flavours. Other tasters said the chocolate was great, so just do what you think would taste best for you!

Maple Caramel Cheesecake with Chocolate Ganache

*Note: The maple flavour is quite subtle in this cake. If you want to increase the flavour, add another 1/2 cup of maple syrup and leave out the sugar.*

Crust

  • 1 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
Filling
  • 3 1/2 x 8 oz packages cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup caramel sauce
Ganche
  • 250 g semisweet chocolate
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
Directions:
in a bowl, mix graham crumbs, oats, sugar, butter, and coconut oil. Push evenly into the bottom of a 10 inch springfoam fan. Set aside.
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.In a large bowl, beat cream cheese and sugar until fluffy. Incorporate eggs, and beat until a smooth, custardy texture forms. Add vanilla, maple syrup,  and cinnamon until combined. Pour mixture into crust and swirl in caramel sauce. Bake for 75-85 minutes until top is brown and cake is still jiggly. Let cake sit in oven, with oven door open, for fifteen minutes (so as to not shock cheesecake and let it sink/crack, etc.). Then remove cake and let cool for half an hour on counter top, and at least 3 hours (best if overnight) in fridge.Before serving, make ganache. Heat cream until just boiling, then remove and pour over chocolate, in a small-medium bowl. Let chocolate melt, then whisk until mixture becomes smooth and glossy. Cool in fridge or freezer until desired thickness. Pour gently over cheesecake.Happy baking!


xox.
2 Responses to “Maple Caramel Cheesecake with Chocolate Ganache”

  1. sugarplumsweets February 29, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

    Oooh sounds delicious! I’ve never had a maple cheesecake before. That sounds so food.

Leave a Reply

