Vegan Rocky Road Cookies

24 Feb

Before I start anything, I must say that the marshmallows and chocolate chunks in this recipe ARE NOT vegan. They were what I had in the house so I used them. The cookie batter base IS vegan, which I think is the most important part anyways. If you are on a vegan diet, for whatever reason, you will need to find vegan certified chocolate, or other fillings that you wish to include. And really, whatever diet you follow, these are to die for!

Super chewy, chocolatey, and delicious

I made these with coconut oil, and I was happy with the result. No, it doesn’t have the same “OMG” effect that butter gives, but it gives a nice, subtle hint of coconut. I use coconut oil in almost all my cooking, and I love it. It keeps me full longer than your average olive oil and it is perfect as a conditioner and moisturizer, too! Super food?

I modified the recipe from Cookie Madness.

Vegan Rocky Road Cookies

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp apple sauce
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 2/3 cup semisweet chocolate (vegan approved)
  • 2/3 cup marshmallows (leave out if following vegan diet)
Directions:

so rich and gooey

Preheat oven to 350 degreees F and grease a large cookie sheet.
Mix together dry ingredients, and set aside.
In a large bowl, mix together wet ingredients. Mix in dry ingredients until thoroughly combined. Stir in chocolate and other mix-ins.Scoop 1/4 cup dough balls onto bake sheet, leaving 1-2 inches between cookies. Bake for 15 minutes, until set and golden brown.Happy Baking!xox.
Leave a Reply

