Caramel Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

22 Feb

I’m home and I ain’t happy about it! I was up in Whistler for the last three days, skiing and partying and having a blast, but my cold actually got the better of me and I had to come home. Seriously, I tried to battle this thing but it would not back off! I think I chugged a whole bottle of cough syrup by the end of the trip, probably not the healthiest thing to do. Anywho, I am happy with the days I got it, I’m super sore from the shredding! It was great to see everyones drunk and skied-out faces every night and hope to get back up to Whistler ASAP.

Waiting in the lift line

Had a sick time skiing Spankies with the Rohn bros. They kill it! I’m always humbled to death whenever I ski with them.

Dan having his way with the mountain

Now that I’m home, and eating real food (ski food= peanut butter on everything), I decided to whip up some cookie bars. I found these on BrownEyedBaker’s site and died looking at the pictures. Holeeeee yummo. I adapted it slighty and they still tasted amazing.

Chewy, gooey caramel

I cant wait for my babies to come back so that they can continue eating all my baked goods. This stuff is dangerous to have hanging around the house!

caramel soaked, tbh

Caramel Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies 

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup salted butter, melted
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup caramel spread

Direction:

Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 9×9 baking dish.

Mix together flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

yuuum

In a medium bowl, beat butter and sugars until combined. Add in eggs and beat until smooth. Add vanilla and apple sauce and beat thoroughly. Add wet ingredients to dry, and mix. When combined, stir in chocolate chips.

Spread half of the cookie dough into the baking dish in an even layer. On top, spread a thin layer of caramel. Finally, spread the rest of the cookie dough on top, making sure to cover the caramel.

Bake for 30-35 minutes, until golden and still soft inside. Cool for 15-20 minutes, then cut into bars. For a less gooey bar, cool in fridge for a further 15 minutes.

Enjoy!

xox.

Leave a Reply

