Red Velvet S’mores

19 Feb

My cold is taking over my life. Ugh, I feel like sh*t and don’t know what to do about it. I want to be outside and doing things, not sitting around the house. Plus, I want to drink and I know it is a no-no. I have a concert to go to tonight and I am absolutely terrified of how I’m going to feel tomorrow.

What have I been doing to deal with my boredom? Baking up a storm. These little guys were a total hit. I adapted the recipe from How Sweet It Is.

Graham crust and marshmallow topping ❤

Next time, I will use marshmallow fluff because I think it would be easier to eat! This stuff gets everywhere. Messy.

Rev Velvet S’mores 

Crust:

  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/2 cup room temperature butter

Red Velvet:

  • 1/2 cup butter at room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp red dye
  • 2 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Topping:

  • 2 cups mini marshmallows

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9x9x2 baking pan.

Mix graham cracker crumbs and butter together, and press into bottom of pan.

In a small bowl, mix together cocoa powder, vanilla, and red dye into a paste. Set aside. In a medium bowl, beat butter and sugar until fluffy. Add in eggs, one at a time, until combined. Slowly add cocoa mixture and beat until colour is even throughout the batter.

Toasted marshmallows

Add in flour and salt and mix until batter is smooth and a mild red colour. Stir in chocolate chips. Pour batter on top of graham crust and bake for 35-40 minutes. Remove, add marshmallows in an even layer on top of red velvet, and broil for 5 minutes more. Keep your eye on it and check for the perfect golden colour of marshmallow.

Remove and let cool for ten minutes, then dig in. If you want a square-like dessert, and not a goey mess, let cool in fridge for 20 minutes more.

Slice and enjoy!

xox

2 Responses to “Red Velvet S’mores”

  1. Jody Thompson February 19, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    This looks great!

Leave a Reply

