Chocolate Peanut Butter-Swirl Banana Bread

12 Jan

I love peanut butter. I have to eat it every day it’s that good. I even go so far as to put it in my oatmeal, smoothies, topped on pancakes, and in almost all my baking if a can.  The other night I met a girl with the exact same birthday as me, and she confessed her love of peanut-butter-oatmeal. Separated at birth or what?

I even order my peanut butter online. Yes. Crazy, I know. My online shopping consists of different flavours of nut butter, which for some reason are only made and sold in the US. Come on Canada, get your ass in gear! I want to buy chocolate, butter toffee, and coconut peanut butters at my grocery store.

The good stuff

I buy most of my nut butters from Naturally Nutty. The company was made by vegan momma Katie who wanted to feed her family a healthier version of the commercially made peanut butter sold almost everywhere. Searching for the same thing online, I came across Katie’s company site and fell in love. Her nut butters have a natural taste to them, and contain hemp and flax seeds for a little extra oomph. You must try some of her varieties! She even has non nut butter spreads.

After ordering a million jars of peanut butter, and panicking at what to do with them all, proceed to make this banana bread. I love this swirly bread. Even before you sink your teeth in to it, it’s just beautiful to look at. Super easy to do, too! I snagged the idea from SugarPlum (what a surprise). That girl knows her stuff. Seriously. If you have never seen her blog, I suggest you take a little trip on over to her site and proceed with gawking at everything she makes.

I’m so happy to have roommates who will just eat anything I make. It ensure that I don’t just sit there and eat the whole thing. I also think eating together is the best way to bond. To LOVE experiencing yummy food together, and to be able to talk about it for hours- that’s when you know your friends are keepers. True story.

Chocolate Peanut Butter-Swirl Banana Bread

  • 2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon bakind powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 2 medium bananas, mashed (make sure they are nice and spotty!)
  • 3/4 cup Naturally Nutty Butter Toffee Peanut Butter
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Butter a 9-inch loaf pan.

In a medium bowl, whisk  flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a large mixing bowl, using a mixer, beat together bananas, peanut butter, granulated sugar, and brown sugar until creamy.  Beat in eggs, vanilla, oil, and milk. Slowly beat in flour mixture and then chocolate chips. Once combined, pour half the batter into another bowl, and beat in cocoa powder.

Spoon portions of each batter into pan. Try not to mix them into one ugly colour! You can swirl with a knife if feeling fancy.

Bake for 60-65 minutes or until bread pulls away from pan, is a deep golden brown, and a toothpick inserted comes out with moist crumbs attached. Cool on a wire rack for 1 hour; run a knife around outer edges and invert onto wire rack to cool completely before slicing.

I then thawed left over peanut butter icing that I had froze. Damn…….

Everything is better with dribbly frosting. Especially peanut butter frosting.

Have a fantabulous day!!!!

xox

Leave a Reply

