Chocolate Peanut Butter Espresso Cake

6 Jan

Hello Vancouver! I’m so happy to be back. Everyone everyone seems refreshed from the break, school work is still slack, and now is the time to ski and party as much as possible. I am trying to get back into my old (healthy) routine again, by eating healthier and staying organized. I have a hard semester coming up and I want to be as prepared and healthy for it as possible. I am also pretty curious and excited for new classes, though I know that this feeling will only last for a week or so.

Last night was the Ski and Board Clubs “Welcome Back” party at the Bourbon. I have to say, I am not a country girl, and never will be, but this place was pretty fun. I think I enjoyed it because there was a good crowd, but I just cant stand that whole honky-tonk, cowboy vibe. Weird considering I’m from Calgary…

Fudgy peanut butter icing. Ideal for tipsy crowds

To fuel up before going out, I made this Chocolate, Peanut Butter Espresso cake. I was really happy how moist the cake turned out, and loved the fudgy texture. I am not a big fan of those light, airy cakes that taste like you are eating nothing.

This cake is easy to make. I didn’t have two cake pans so I just used one big casserole dish. I adapted it from Megabite, and hers looked beautiful.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Espresso Cake

Cake

  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 stick (8 T) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 1/2 cup espresso
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup chocolate flavoured peanut butter (or regular)
  • 1 t vanilla extract

Frosting

  • 2 sticks (16 T) unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 T vanilla extract
  • 6 oz. good-quality unsweetened chocolate, melted and cooled
  • 1/2 cup chocolate flavoured peanut butter (or regular peanut butter)
Directions:
 
Preheat your oven to 350°. Butter two 8 inch round cake pans  and line bottoms with aluminum foil. Butter aluminum.
In a small bowl, whisk cocoa powder, flour, sugars, baking powder and baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
In a large bowl, beat melted butter, espresso shot, and hot water. Slowly add eggs, then vanilla, and finally peanut butter. Pour dry mix slowly into wet, beating continuously.
When mixture is thoroughly incorporated, pour into cake pans. Bake for 35 minutes until skewer comes out just clean. Let cool in pan, then remove cake and cool on wire rack. When cooled completely, add frosting.
 For frosting, beat softened butter, sugar, and vanilla. Slowly add melted chocolate, and finally peanut butter. Cool is freezer for 15-20 minutes, then spread evenly over cake.Enjoy!

xox
2 Responses to “Chocolate Peanut Butter Espresso Cake”

  1. Megan March 6, 2012 at 6:22 am #

    Oh yum. I love that you peanut butter-ified this dreamboat of a cake! This seems like the perfect way to start your semester. ❤

Leave a Reply

