Chocolate Pie

30 Mar

Chocolate at its finest

Sometimes all I want to do on my Friday night is stay in my house, wear over-sized boyfriend hoodies, watch movies, and eat insanely delicious food. In fact, if I could, I would probably spend most of my evenings like this. Plus a bottle of wine or two, if I weren’t super sick (still…kind of not funny anymore). The only problem is that I like to eat a lot of food, which is really unfortunate considering that I have the smallest stomach and metabolism of all time.

SO! I made this pie to fix this issue. I got the idea to use tofu in it from Chocolate Covered Katie, and am extremely pleased with the results. Not only is this pie low calorie and healthy, it is also incredibly tasty and creamy! The vest of both worlds! In addition to a full pack of extra-firm tofu, I added a large banana, peanut butter, heart-healthy dark chocolate, and coconut oil. You could probably add whatever you like, as long as you have a food processor to turn it all into liquid silk.

I found that the pie’s taste and texture improved with time! The longer I let it sit in the fridge, the richer, sweeter, and firmer the ¬†result. I didn’t bother making a crust and was quite happy I didn’t. This pie shines perfectly on its own, but I’m sure a nice oreo crumb crust would compliment it well if you so desired.

Please try this! It comes in at under 200 calories a slice (each pie has 8 servings), is chock full of protein and antioxidants, and is super easy to make! You will not regret it.

Chocolate Pie 

  • 1 pack of extra-firm tofu (roughly 12 oz)
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tsp cocoa
  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips, melted
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter (smooth)
  • 1 tbsp honey (or other sweetener, and a as much as you want)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 2 tbsp milk (or a non-dairy substitute)

Directions:

 

Throw all ingredients into a food processor, and process for up to ten minutes, scraping down the sides. The resulting product should be smooth, and not too wet. Pour into a shallow 9 inch pie dish and cool in fridge for 2 hours. Slice and enjoy!

Happy Friday!

xx.

2 Responses to “Chocolate Pie”

  1. Emilymilla April 3, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    SO YUMMY ^____^ !!!!!!!

    love,

    your roomie, emz

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

