National Women’s Day Cupcakes!

8 Mar

Hello all you gorgeous females! I hope y’all had a fantastic day, doing womanly things. Ha. Right.

Actually, to tell you the truth, I was a little upset with something that happened today. On campus, a Genocide Awareness Protest was taking place, fighting for anit-abortion. Why? And why on Women’s Day?? They claimed that abortion was a level of genocide. To enhance this, they put up posters of dead, headless “fetuses” which happened to look suspiciously like dogs covered in red corn syrup. As I was staring, horrified at the scene before me, a woman came up to me and asked about my thoughts on abortion. I said I was pro-choice. This spurred her to talk about how wrong abortion was, and how it was wrong for a woman to “murder” her child.

To my relief, a pro-choice group joined in, rallying against this crazy group. I was so shocked at how they were presenting this kind of thinking at a university. I just couldn’t get it.

I am absolutely in no way saying choosing to not abort is a bad choice. But I think it should be a choice, not forced. Woman should do what they want with their body, especially if it means the difference between bringing a child into a bad life or not. If you want to abort or not, do what you gotta do.


So, with that off my chest, here are some fabulous, tasty cupcakes! Vanilla cinnamon cake with chocolate cream cheese icing. I made these from Joy the Baker’s new cookbook, ya know, the one I gushed about? I adapted them a little bit (I cant help it!) and they tasted great. I hardly ever make something simple and basic. It’s nice.

Fluffy and full of flavour!

Vanilla Spice Cupcake with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

Cupcake

  • 1 1/3 cups flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
Frosting
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 1 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Mix flour, baking powder, and salt together. Set aside. In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Slowly add in eggs, then vanilla, cinnamon, and heavy cream. When thoroughly combined, pour batter into a greased cupcake pan.  Bake for 25 minutes then remove and let cool for ten minutes.While cupcakes cool, make frosting. Beat butter and cream cheese together until fluffy. Add in sugar and cocoa powder, and continue beating. Finally, add in vanilla and beat until smooth.

Frost cupcakes and top with sprinkles.

Eat with all of your lady friends and have a fantastic evening!

xx.

2 Responses to “National Women’s Day Cupcakes!”

  1. Jody Thompson March 9, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    Oh yum! Nice photos. I’m a big fan of anything cupcake related.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

